Yo, what’s good? My name is Dan and I’m here to give y’all the lowdown on Arizona’s weed scene. I know a lot of y’all come through here and you’re probably wondering, “Is weed legal in Arizona?” Well, let me tell you – it’s a bit of a journey. But, don’t trip – I got you covered. Let’s get into it.
Arizona’s Medical Cannabis History
So, Arizona wasn’t always down with the green. It took some time for the state to recognize the medicinal benefits of weed. Back in 1996, Proposition 200 was passed with 65% of voters approving it. This allowed doctors to prescribe cannabis to patients. But, just a few months later, lawmakers repealed the policy.
Fast forward to 2002 and Proposition 203 was put up for vote. This proposition aimed to decriminalize recreational use of weed, but it failed with only 42.7% of the vote. Law enforcement was not about that life.
Finally, after almost a decade of back-and-forth, Proposition 203 was passed in 2010 with 50.1% of voters approving it. This allowed patients with doctor’s recommendations to possess up to 2 and ½ ounces of cannabis for specific conditions.
Now, let’s get into what y’all really came here for – recreational legalization. In 2016, Proposition 205 was passed with the intention of legalizing marijuana for recreational use. Unfortunately, it failed with only 48.7% of voters approving it.
But don’t worry – things started looking up in 2020 when Proposition 207 was passed with a whopping 420,000 signatures. This initiative decriminalized recreational cannabis and allowed adults to possess up to one (1) ounce or 28 grams of weed. Concentrates can be up to 4.9 grams. You can also cultivate up to six (6) plants at home – and 12 if there’s more than one adult in the household.
Recreational marijuana became legal on November 30, 2020 and state-licensed sales began on January 22, 2021. Arizona had the fastest retail sales availability in the nation – we don’t mess around.
Penalties You Need to Know About
But, just because weed is legal doesn’t mean there aren’t any penalties. Let me break it down for y’all.
If you’re caught with:
– 1 oz or less – no penalty, no fine
– 1 oz to 2.5 oz – petty offense, $300 fine
– 2.5 oz to up to 1.9 lbs – felony, 6 months to 1.5 years imprisonment, $150,000 fine
– 2 lbs to 3.9 lbs – felony, 9 months to 2 years imprisonment, $150,000 fine
– 4 lbs or more – felony, 1.5 years to 3 years imprisonment, $150,000 fine
Selling or transferring:
– Up to 1 oz – no penalty, no imprisonment, no fine
– Up to 1.9 lbs – felony, 1.5 years to 3 years imprisonment, $150,000 fine
– 2 lbs to 4 lbs – felony, 2.5 years to 7 years imprisonment, $150,000 fine
– 4 lbs or more – felony, 4 years to 10 years imprisonment, $150,000 fine
Cultivation or growing:
– Up to six (6) plants – no penalty, no imprisonment, no fine
– Up to 12 plants with more than one (1) adult – petty offense, no imprisonment, $0 fine
– 6+ plants to 2 lbs with a single adult in the residence – felony, 9 months to 2 years imprisonment, $150,000 fine
– 2 to 4 lbs – felony, 1.5 years to 3 years imprisonment, $150,000 fine
– 4+ lbs – felony, 2.5 years to 7 years imprisonment, $150,000 fine
I know y’all probably still have some questions so let me break it down for you.
Can You Legally Smoke Weed in Public in Arizona?
Nope. Smoking weed publicly is against the law. You gotta do it in your own private residence.
Do You Need a Medical Card to Buy From a Dispensary in Arizona?
Nope. As long as you’re at least 21 years old and buying under the legal amount, you can buy without a medical marijuana card.
AZ Recreational Allotment Rules
You can possess one (1) ounce or 28 grams of weed at a time and cultivate up to six (6) plants at home – or 12 if there’s more than one adult in the household.
The Bottom Line
So, is weed legal in Arizona? Yes, for recreational use! But remember – there are still penalties for breaking the laws. Stay safe and informed out there. And if you know someone who could use this information, share it with them! Peace out.