Yo, what’s good fam? This is Dan, and today we’re talking about Ohio’s weed situation. Is it legal or nah? I know you’ve been itching to know, so we’ll break it down real quick.
Ohio’s Cannabis Legalization Journey
Ohio has had a roller-coaster ride when it comes to weed legalization, just like most states. It started way back in 1975 when Governor James Rhodes signed the decriminalization bill. This made Ohio the sixth state to decriminalize weed. If you get caught with less than 100 grams of weed, you’ll only get a fine of up to $150. But if you get caught carrying more than that but less than 200 grams, you could get a month in jail and a $250 fine.
In 2015, Issue 3 was proposed to allow recreational use of cannabis, but it failed. The issue aimed to legalize weed, allow commercial-scale cultivation, and let people 21 years or older possess up to an ounce of weed and up to eight ounces for personal cultivation. But unfortunately, the proposal didn’t get enough support because of a plan for a cannabis monopoly.
Fast forward to the following year, Governor John Kasich signed House Bill 523 into law, which allowed medical cannabis in Ohio. This bill established rules for licensed and/or state-run testing labs, growing facilities, physician and patient certification, as well as retail dispensaries.
Is Weed Legal in Ohio?
To answer your question straight up, nope. Ohio is not down with recreational or leisure use of weed. Unless you’re a medical patient and following the state’s rules and regulations on medical cannabis use, then you’re good to go.
But wait, wasn’t weed decriminalized in Ohio? Yeah bro, it can be confusing AF! But let’s break it down into two separate scenarios – medical cannabis and recreational cannabis.
If you’re experiencing any of the qualified medical conditions, then you can use medical cannabis in Ohio. The list includes AIDS, cancer, Crohn’s disease, epilepsy, fibromyalgia, glaucoma, HIV, migraines, multiple sclerosis, PTSD, and many more.
It’s completely illegal in Ohio under federal law. However, it has been decriminalized. That means fines and penalties for possession have been lessened and decreased. Last year, petitions to legalize recreational weed were trashed after receiving 130,000+ signatures. But there’s still hope because the legislature would need 130,000 more valid signatures to place the proposal on the ballot in 2023.
Decriminalized vs. Criminalized Possession in Ohio
Just because weed has been decriminalized doesn’t mean you can carry it around like it’s legal. You’ll still get a fine or misdemeanor if caught carrying weed. Only now, it’s just lighter penalties instead of getting straight-up felony charges.
Ohio Laws and Penalties
If you’re still confused about Ohio’s weed laws and penalties, don’t worry fam – we got you.
Possession of Cannabis
If you’re caught carrying less than 100 grams of weed, expect a fine of up to $150. But if you get caught with more than that but less than 200 grams, you could get a month in jail and a $250 fine. Going over 200 grams could bring felony charges and fines up to $20k.
Sale or Distribution of Cannabis
Sharing weed is considered selling or distribution under Ohio law. If you gift about 20 grams or less for the first offense, expect no imprisonment but a $150 fine. The second offense gets you a misdemeanor and a $500 fine. Giving more than that gets you felony charges with fines up to $20k.
Cultivation of Cannabis
Growing weed in Ohio is illegal, just like possessing it. Refer to the possession table for the penalties and fines.
Still got questions? Here are some of the most common ones about Ohio’s weed legalization:
Is it Legal to Smoke Weed in Ohio?
Nope. Recreational weed use is still illegal in Ohio.
How Much Weed Can You Drive and Carry in Ohio?
If you’re caught with less than 100 grams, expect a fine of up to $150. Going over that could bring jail time and fines.
Now you know the deal with Ohio’s weed situation. Recreational use is not allowed, but medical cannabis is permitted for certain medical conditions. If you’re caught with weed, you’ll get fines or misdemeanor charges. Stay woke, fam!